Year 5 have been looking at the key concepts of the Islamic faith.

What do the 5 pillars of Islam mean?

There are five key practices that all Muslims are obligated to fulfil throughout their lifetime.

These practices are referred to as pillars because they form the foundation of Muslim life.

As Theologists the children have discovered that The five pillars of Islam are :

Shahada – words of commitment

Salah  – prayer

Zakat- charitable deeds

Sawm –  fasting

Hajj  – pilgrimage

Our children need to aware about their own beliefs and values so they can respect and learn about the cultural differences of others.